Latest News:
Sunday, November 29, 2020

619 997 2495
858 635 8931
Click Here

11702 Pickford Road
San Diego, CA 92131

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter

Falcon Valley Group on FacebookFalcon Valley Group on Twitter

Subscribe to our Newsfeed

Subscribe to Falcon Valley Group's RSS Newsfeed.

Public Relations Society of America logo

Accredited in Public Relations logo

In The Newsroom

Leap to Success
Friday, December 07, 2018
The "Leap to Confidence" program celebrates its 50th graduation ceremony on Wednesday, December 12, at 2 p.m. in East Village, San Diego. Twenty women will be graduating at this milestone event. Leap to Confidence is a personal leadership workshop offered at no cost to women emerging from major life challenges to help them reach their greatest potential.
Associated Builders and Contractors San Diego
Friday, June 19, 2015
Apprentices and journeymen from the Class of 2015 are employed at businesses throughout San Diego County.
Associated Builders and Contractors San Diego
Monday, June 15, 2015
Three recipients receive on-the-job training, tools and tuition free classroom education.

Gayle Lynn Falkenthal, APR, San Diego Press Club
                    619-997-2495 or Email Gayle

Wide Spectrum of Winners Honored at
38th Annual Excellence in Journalism Awards Ceremony

(San Diego) - San Diego's finest reporters, photographers, writers and artists were honored with the region's top awards in journalism at the San Diego Press Club's 38th annual Excellence in Journalism Awards at a fitting location – the San Diego Hall of Champions.

"The challenges faced by members of today’s news media have never been more daunting. The landscape changes seemingly moment to moment,” said Nicole Sours Larson, incoming San Diego Press Club President. “But one thing doesn’t change, which is that a good, well-written, well-told story is at the heart of all high-quality communication. The story prevails and it is the storytelling we honor through our awards.”

The San Diego Press Club's Journalism Awards is among the largest regional competitions in the United States. More than 340 awards were presented in 105 categories, with a 15% increase in entries over the previous year. A full list of winners is available online at

A wide array of topics and their treatment captured the judges’ attention. Notable in this year’s competition was the number of individuals writing for websites and blogs winning head to head against more established mainstream or “traditional” news media, including the most honored winners of the year.

Among multiple award winners, Joanne Faryon of KPBS received a record-breaking seven first place awards and one second, making her the most honored journalist of the evening. Pat Broderick, San Diego Daily Journal, added six awards, securing her place as the Press Club’s most honored journalist through the history of the competition. Eighteen individual journalists received four or more awards, including multiple first place award winners Faryon, Beth Accomando, Kristina Davis, Irv Erdos, Claire Yezbak Fadden, Gayle Lynn Falkenthal, APR, Ron James, Ed Joyce, Nicole Sours Larson, Lily Leung, Katia López-Hodoyán, Christopher Maue, Miriam Raftery, Jamie Reno, Valerie Scher, Bob Stefanko and Mia Stefanko.

Best of Show Awards were presented to:

Best Television Entry

DaVida Plummer VanderPloeg, “Oxy: A Quick Trip to Heroin,” KUSI-TV

Best Non-Daily Newspapers Entry
David Rolland, “Injustice Served: How One Strip Joint and the Federal Government Destroyed Mike Zucchet's Political Career,” San Diego CityBeat

Best Magazines Entry
Cher Pendarvis, “Steve Lis and His Fish,” Surfers’ Journal

Best Websites Entry
Joanne Faryon, Christopher Maue, Hilary Andrews, Ciarra Briesch, “The Marijuana State,” KPBS

Best Radio Entry
Ed Joyce, “All Things Considered 5:30 pm News,” (June 16, 2011), KPBS

Best Daily Newspapers and Web Entry
Janine Zuniga, Tanya Sierra, Morgan Lee, Greg Moran, Kristina Davis, “Teen's Life Story One of Neglect, Brutality,” The San Diego Union-Tribune

Wildcard Category

James Palen, “Biomimicry: Nature meets human innovation for sustainable living,” San Diego Daily Transcript

Designated News Day
Sage Pierce, Nina Mortenson, Heathre Decou, Sherry Lou Blower, “NBC San Diego News in the Morning,” (May 25, 2011)

Special Achievement Awards were presented to:

Harold Keen Award for Outstanding Contributions in Journalism

Don Sevrens

Andy Mace Award for Career Achievement in Public Relations
Stephanie Casenza, APR
Jim Reiman Award for Enlightened Media Management
Greg Dawson

NOTE TO EDITORS/REPORTERS: The full list of winners is available online at